Home / Competition Draws / St Georges Open Weekend 3 Preview

St Georges Open Weekend 3 Preview

Some of the biggest names in bowls travel down to St Georges this weekend to stake their claim in the competition. Simon Coupe was in awesome form at West Brom last weekend and looks to continue that at St Georges on Saturday Morning. Also appearing is his North Lancs & Fylde team mate Dave Watters, as well as Cheshire’s Steve Morrey and Wales’ talented youngster Nick Jones. Ivan Smout is a former Autumn Waterloo winner and also takes part. In the afternoon and Graeme Wilson travels from Yorkshire to take part having won multiple major titles over the years. There are many counties represented with Paul & Conor Chamberlain from Derbyshire, Paul Kissock & Billy Thornton of Cumbria and Joe & Keith Williamson of the Potteries. Matt Gilmore, 2001 and 2016 All England Winner, is also there as well as local county player Spencer Clarke and Yorkshire star Ashley Tattersley.

On Sunday and Merseyside’s Dave McDermott is there in the morning, along with Warwick and Worcester star Carl Fielding and North Midlands and former Midland Masters winner Steve Pratt. Former Cumbria Merit winner Andy Thornton makes the long trip down from the north, along with Dean Butler, who caused some shocks along the way in last year’s Spring Waterloo. Jamie Bramley is another up and coming player while Jamie Wyer started last season at St Georges and will hope green knowledge will help him. In the afternoon and Autumn Waterloo champion Wayne Ditchfield is the star name there but Dan Petcher also knows how to win a big competition, having won the Charlie Tattersall Memorial amongst other things. Youngsters aim to triumph over experience with Dave Lloyd, Lee Kington, Dan Ferris all wanting to make their mark. Danny Sillitoe comes down from South Yorkshire, with Staffordshire’s Cliff Johnson another seasoned competition player.

It promises to be a cracking weekend of action at St Georges!

Players appearing this weekend.
This is not the draw.

Saturday Morning session
Neil Boxall
William Childs
Simon Coupe
Nigel Egan
Nigel Ferrington
Sandra Gilfedder
Steve Gilfedder
Darryl Handley
Kevin Handley
Nick Jones
Matt Kelly Wally
Steve Morrey
Ed Wallis
Dave Watters
Ivan Smout
Rich Worthington

Saturday Afternoon session 
Graeme Wilson
Paul Chamberlain
Conor Chamberlain
Robin Clarke
Spencer Clarke
Matt Gilmore
Paul Kissock
James Martin
Anthony Thompson
Billy Thornton
Colin Scorah
Keith Williamson
Ashley Tattersley
Joe Williamson

Sunday Morning session 
Roy Bradburn
Jamie Bramley
Michael Coupe
Dean Butler
James Cosgrove
Carl Fielding
Simon Lane
Jamie Wyer
Ryan Walters
Mark Johnson
Dave McDermott
Craig Shore
Adam Weaver
Steve Pratt
Peter Hawkes
Andy Thornton

Sunday Afternoon session 
Wayne Ditchfield
Danny Sillitoe
Dan Petcher
Ben Dixon
Mark Thomas
Dan Ferris
Cliff Johnson
John Gateley
Tony Gateley
Dave Lloyd
Craig Round
Tony Wood
Dean Sherwin
Jordan Bradbury
Lee Kington

About Rob Burroughs

Check Also

BCGBA Champion of Champions Draw

The draw for the BCGBA Champion of Champions has been done, and is below: Callum …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *