Home / Competition Draws / Wrockwardine Wood Open 2018 Qualifying Preview

Wrockwardine Wood Open 2018 Qualifying Preview

There are many big names that have entered the Wrockwardine Wood Open to get their hands on the chance to make next year’s Champion of Champions if it gets in on reserve.

The first morning sees Callum Wraight try and end the season the way he started it after he won the Meole Brace Open, however he openly admits that he doesn’t like the old green. Wayne Phillips is another local competition player that can go far, as well as Ian Gaut who has plenty of experience on the green. Another player with experience of the green is former homester Scott Harries. Michael Lynch reached the final of the George Masters just two weeks ago so is in good form, as well as Elliot McGuinness who won the Bowls Comps Floodlit competition just last week. Barry Booth of the Potteries and District is an experienced campaigner, while Jack Whitehead is at the other end of the spectrum but is an up and coming player as well as Reece Farr.

Saturday Afternoon is when some big Shropshire County players take part, including Rich Lawson, Pete Farmer, a former winner, Kiah Roberts, Clay Flattley and Paul Williams. There are some major names coming from the Midlands which include the North Midlands Merit winner Darren Plenderleith and Warwick and Worcester Merit winner Carl Fielding. Dan Petcher has won many big competitions, and his county team mate Connor Chamberlain has also won big competitions, and reached the Midland Masters finals last month. Gordon Hawkins and Chris Ward come over from Staffordshire while Paul Hemming, fresh from helping George win them the Super Cup, also takes part. Former Autumn Waterloo winner Ivan Smout is there and this year’s Sandal Classic champion Dean Missere makes the long journey down from South Yorkshire.

Sunday Morning sees former winner Scott Simpson take part, along with another player who enjoys the green, Mike Beer. Derek Wright and Pete Bound know how to go far in major competitions, as well as Russ Pegram and Phil Clinton from the Midlands. Sam Millward had a great run in both the St Georges and Meole opens and will look to do so again in a Shropshire open competition. Paul Evans and competition players Kirk Stevens and Glyn Storer will also be expected to get close to getting through.

The afternoon session is perhaps the most open session of them all. Warwick and Worcester youngster Adam Patrick will look to use his competition experience, while Staffordshire pair Simon Homer and Jamie Wyer will also that experience. Tony Rhodes will look to use his green knowledge to his advantage, with Warwick & Worcester youngsters James and Ash Bracken and Adam Kirby hoping to get their name on their first major competition.

Wrockwardine Wood Open 2018

List of Entrants – THIS IS NOT THE DRAW

Saturday 20th October 10.00am (9.45 practise)
Adam Weaver
Mark Selley
Wayne Phillips
Kane Beaman
Chris Worthington
Barry Booth
James Martin
Ashley Tattersley
Adam Walker
Callum Wraight
Dan Wilson
Reece Farr
Nick Wyer
Darrell Handley
Kevin Handley
Ian Gaut
Gary Whitehall
Connor Whitehall
Wayne Rogers
Peter Thomas
Roy Bradburn
Phil King
Jack Whitehead
Elliott McGuiness
Michael Lynch
Ben Lynch
Dave Ellison
Will Childs
Scott Harries
Tom Skelding
Liam Cruise-Taylor (tbc)
Molly Sullivan (tbc)

Saturday 20th October 2.00pm (1.45 practise)

Dan Petcher
Phil Bundred
Mike Davies
Chris Ward
Gordon Hawkins
Darrell Matkin
Matt Farmer
Kevin Hocknull
Peter Farmer
Ashley Gregory
Paul Chamberlain
Connor Chamberlain
Lewis Belcher
Richard Lawson
Nigel Ferrington
Adrian Jennings
Martin Codd
Ivan Smout
Kiah Roberts
Dean Missere
James Higgins
Clay Flattley
Paul Williams
Scott Moseley
Keiran Jones
Les Smith
Mark Thomas
Neil Kershaw
Darren Plenderleith
Carl Fielding
Tracy Baker
Paul Hemming

Sunday 21st October 10.00am (9.45practise)

Michael Beer
Scott Simpson
Will Tarrell
Russell Prosser
John Price
Richard Dandy
Jason Colledge
David Clarke
Derek Wright
Peter Bound
Bill Staite
Stuart Gittings
Nathan Dawes
Sam Millward
Jon Lyttle
Jimmy Fagan
Andy Howie
Dave Clarke
Matt Higgins
Martyn Higgins
Chris Baker
Rob Steventon
Paul Evans
Lee Woodfield
Kirk Stevens
Glyn Storer
Natty Tonks
Michael Warrington
Paul Tonks
Danny Edkins
Russ Pegram
Phil Clinton

Sunday 21st October 2.00pm (1.45 practise)

Craig Baugh
James Bracken
Ash Bracken
Adam Kirby
Greg Fordham
Chris Marshman
Jason McLoughlin
Adam Patrick
Paul Patrick
Jordan Patrick
Jamie Wyer
Simon Homer
Felix Abba
Adam Dickerson
Aiden Richardson
Michael Cooper
Ayden Smith
Dave Lloyd
Curtis Metcalfe
Chris Newbrook
Tony Rhodes
Mick Hodgkinson
Matt Bates
Simon Green
James Blair
Nigel Egan
Tim Jones
Chris Gill
Tony Gill
Cedric Bancroft
Jan Wakefield
Paul Beechey

If you wish to go on reserve list please contact me

07870 861379

About Rob Burroughs

Check Also

BCGBA Champion of Champions Draw

The draw for the BCGBA Champion of Champions has been done, and is below: Callum …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *